Stewards of state history announce this year’s award winners

Aug. 1, 2016

TACOMA… Each year, the Washington State Historical Society bestows a number of awards on people and organizations that make a significant contribution to Washington’s history, heritage and culture. The 2016 winners and award categories are listed below along with a description of each: 

William H. Mullins – Charles Gates Memorial Award for his article, The Persistence of Progressivism; James Ellis and the Forward Thrust Campaign, 1968-1960 (Pacific Northwest Quarterly, Spring 2014, Volume 105 Number 2, Page 55). First given in 1965, the Charles Gates Memorial Award recognizes the most significant achievement among all articles published in Pacific Northwest Quarterly during the previous year. 

David Delbert Kruger – John McClelland, Jr. Award for his article, The Main Street Spirit of JCPenney; A Department Store Chain in the Downtowns of Washington (Columbia, The Magazine of Northwest History, Summer 2015, Page 8). First given in 1989, the John McClelland, Jr. Award is given out for the best article in a particular volume of Columbia Magazine. Winning articles exhibits the readability and interest that typifies Columbia. 

Northwest News Network and Anna King – David Douglas Award for Daughters of Hanford, a series highlighting the underrepresented women’s perspectives of the nuclear site in twelve radio pieces and complementary portraits. First given in 1979, the David Douglas Award recognizes the significant contribution of an individual or an organization through projects, exhibits, digital presentations, or programs such as apps, websites or blogs, educational products or any other vehicle that informs or expands appreciation of any field of Washington State history during the previous year.

Barry Gough – Robert Gray Medal. First given in 1968, the Robert Gray Medal is the highest award bestowed by the Washington State Historical Society. It recognizes distinguished and long-term contributions to Pacific Northwest history through demonstrated excellence in one or more of the following areas: teaching, writing, research, historic preservation, and service to local historical societies. 

Michelle Hall – Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching History. First given in 1998, the Governor’s Award is presented to an outstanding certified teacher of Pacific Northwest history in an accredited K-12 school in Washington or to a nonprofit organization. 

Ed Carriere, Squamish Elder – Peace and Friendship Award. First given in 1975, one of the two Peace and Friendship Awards is presented to a Native American who has advanced public understanding of the cultural diversity of the peoples of Washington State. 

Dale Croes, Archaeologist – Peace and Friendship Award. The second Peace and Friendship Award is presented to a non-Native individual who has advanced public understanding of the cultural diversity of the peoples of Washington State. 

Susan Long – Lorraine Wojahn Award. First presented in 1991, the Lorraine Wojahn Award is given to a person who has provided outstanding volunteer service to the Washington State Historical Society or the Washington State History Museum in Tacoma. 

Bill Brookreson and the South Sound Native Plant Society – Jean Richards Award. First given in 1994, the Jean Richards Award recognizes commitment to the State Capital Museum and Outreach Center through volunteer service in Olympia. 

These individuals will receive their awards at the Washington State Historical Society’s annual meeting on Saturday, September 24, 2016. The presentation kicks off at noon and will culminate with a keynote address from Tim Davis, the chief historian for the U.S. National Parks Service, at 2 p.m. 

Founded in 1891 and now into its second century of service, the Washington State Historical Society is dedicated to collecting, preserving and vividly presenting Washington's rich and storied history. The Historical Society is comprised of both museums and research centers, offering a variety of services to researchers, historians, scholars, and lifelong learners. For more information, visit